The Blog

Find out what’s happening.
Thomas Kueber
Jun 8, 2016
Hello 2017

Founded by the Interaction Design Association (IxDA), the Interaction Awards honour design quality and innovation, open conversations amongst the community and continuously advance the practice of Interaction Design. We accept entries in the following six categories: 
Optimizing, Engaging, Empowering, Expressing, Connecting, and Disrupting.

All entries will be evaluated based on the following criteria: opportunity, audience, impact, craft and category appropriateness. All entries are judged in two rounds. The first is an anonymous peer-review by IxDA members and second, for shortlisted entries, by our 2017 Interaction Awards jury.

As in previous years, we actively encourage participation from all over the world and across all levels of experience. Entry fees have not changed and continue to be structured by professional or student status and geographic region. Read more about the Interaction Awards categories, rules, and prizes.

What Is New

A few updates from last years awards. We are happy to announce that we have a new awards co-chair, Molly W. Steenson, who will be steering the team together with Thomas Kueber.

They are both looking forward to seeing your work and greeting you at the next Interaction Awards celebration on Wednesday evening, 8 February, 2017, during the Interaction Week in New York City.

We will also be introducing a new jury for this year. Who we have got for this year’s jury chair is still a secret – but will be revealed soon!

We have exciting plans in store for this year’s Awards, and we can’t wait to share them with you. In the meantime, please help us spread the word:

  • Tweet about the Interaction Awards (#IxDAwards) and follow us on Twitter for updates
  • Show your support on Facebook. Like the Interaction Awards

Help us to further elevate the practice of Interaction Design this year by entering your favorite project work — and encouraging others to enter theirs. And, please, don’t hesitate to let us know if you have questions or suggestions:

Join the


You may use these HTML tags: <a href=""></a> for links, <strong></strong> for bold, <em></em> for italic, <blockquote></blockquote> for quoting text.



The Interaction Awards are an initiative of the Interaction Design Association (IxDA), a global community of more than 120,000 individuals worldwide dedicated to the professional practice of Interaction Design. Find out how to join your local group and get involved at

© 2012 - 2023 Interaction Design Association