About the Awards

The Interaction Awards recognize and celebrate examples of excellence in Interaction Design across domains, channels, environments and cultures.


The Interaction Awards, now in its eleventh year, recognize and celebrate excellence in Interaction Design across domains, channels, environments, and cultures.

Founded by the Interaction Design Association (IxDA) in 2010 and first presented in 2012, the annual Interaction Awards celebrate design thought leadership and innovation around the globe. Since its launch in 2003, IxDA has grown into a global network of more than 100,000 individuals and over 200 local groups, focusing on interaction design issues for the practitioner, no matter their level of experience.

Design is everywhere. From architecture to fashion, down to the simplest everyday objects like a hairbrush, virtually everything has been designed for human use. Interaction Design is specifically about people — how people interact with each other, and with the world around them. The Interaction Awards honor best-in-class work, created by interaction designers all over the world, that builds meaningful relationships between people and the products and services that they use. 

We recognize outstanding Interaction Design from all over the world, welcoming work that is created by individuals, companies, as well as students.

Equal Opportunity

IxDA is fully committed to promoting inclusion and diversity within the Interaction Design community and to ensuring that all individuals and groups have equal opportunity to submit work and be reviewed.

All applicants are strongly encouraged to submit entries independent of their ethnicity, gender identity, sexual orientation, language, ability, age, education, expertise/experience, region of origin, region of work, or field of design.

Why Enter

Our goal with these awards is to help the world appreciate the range and importance of Interaction Design. Every entry is considered and reviewed by industry leaders, hiring managers, and industry peers within the Awards jury and IxDA Peer Review Committee. 

All shortlisted entries receive one free registration to the Interaction 23 conference, where the finalists will be announced from the main stage.

All winning and finalist work is added to a living library created to help people discover the best work and uncover trends, insights, and talent that defines excellence. Winning and finalist work is also featured throughout the year on IxDA’s online channels, social media, and as case studies that celebrate designers and their processes. 

View all previous winners and finalists here.

Example Submissions

There is no one “right” way to tell us about your great work: We accept (and have awarded!) submissions at low-, medium- and high-fidelity levels of production, in a variety of visual and narrative styles. 

If you would like to see how others have submitted in the past or want inspiration for your own submission, here is a range of recent project submissions to browse: 


Entries will be considered for the following awards:

  • Connecting – Facilitating communication between people and communities
  • Disrupting – Re-imagining existing systems via new behaviors, usages, or markets
  • Empowering – Helping people to do things they otherwise couldn’t do
  • Engaging – Capturing attention, creating delight and delivering meaning
  • Expressing –  Enabling self expression and/or creativity
  • Optimizing – Making daily activities more efficient

Entries are evaluated by Peer Reviewers from the IxDA community to determine a shortlist of outstanding work. An international jury of design leaders and practitioners then deliberate to select our finalists and winners. 


The Interaction Awards are an initiative of the Interaction Design Association (IxDA), a global community of more than 120,000 individuals worldwide dedicated to the professional practice of Interaction Design. Find out how to join your local group and get involved at ixda.org.

© 2012 - 2023 Interaction Design Association